01 March 2009

More "state" quarters

I had naively assumed that the "50 state quarters" program would be limited to the 50 states. So I was somewhat shocked, actually, to see a District of Columbia quarter yesterday:

Apparently, in 2007, Congress approved the District of Columbia and United States Territories Circulating Quarter Dollar Program Act, which means six new quarter designs will be manufactured this year:

  • District of Columbia
  • Guam
  • American Samoa
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • Northern Mariana Islands

No comments:

Post a Comment